The Golden Bear Awards.

The Golden Bear Awards.

The Golden Bear (Goldener Bär) or Golden Bear of the best film (Goldener Bär für den besten Langfilm) is the most prestigious award awarded at the Berlin Festival since 1951. It is awarded by the official jury to a feature film of the international competition. The bear is the symbol of the city of Berlin. The Golden Bear was carved by Renée Sintenis. Only Taiwanese director Ang Lee has been awarded the Golden Bear twice (in 1993 and 1996).

To date, six women have won the Golden Bear: Marta Meszaros (1975), Larissa Chepitko (1977), Jasmila Zbanic (2006), Claudia Llosa (2009), Ildiko Enyedi (2017) and Adina Pintilie (2018).

The Golden Bear at the Berlin Film Festival was awarded Saturday night to Israeli film Nadav Lapid’s film Synonymes. This feature film tells the story of a young Israeli who rejects his country and his language to live in Paris. The plot is inspired by the filmmaker’s life. It was Juliette Binoche who presided over the ceremony and presented the statuette to the director. The director said on receiving his award that his film could create “a scandal in Israel.” But, he added, I hope that people will understand that fury, rage, hostility, hatred and contempt come only between brothers and sisters, when there for emotion;
Last year, the jury put women in the spotlight by awarding the Golden Bear to Romanian director Adina Pintilie, at the end of an edition marked by the #MeToo controversy. Two years ago, the Berlinale had already surprised by rewarding «Body and soul» of Hungarian Ildiko Enyedi.
François Ozon receives the Golden Bear
On Saturday evening, the Berlin Festival also awarded its Jury Prize to the film «Grâce à Dieu» by French director François Ozon on the scandals of abuse of pedophilia in the Catholic Church. “This film tries to break the silence of powerful institutions” on these cases of sexual abuse of children by members of the clergy, said the French director, receiving his award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *