The Filmfare Awards;

The Filmfare Awards;

The Filmfare Awards are Indian film awards awarded every year since 1954 in Mumbai by the Indian magazine Filmfare, specialized in Bollywood cinema. Every year (except 1987 and 1988), films and actors who have made the news are highlighted during a very popular ceremony. The Filmfare Awards are at the Bollywood cinema what the Oscars are at the American cinema and the Césars at the French cinema The first Filmfare Awards in 1954 had only five categories: Best Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director and Best Composer.Now about 30 awards are handed out at each ceremony.

There are two awards for Best Film, Best Actor and Best Actress. This makes it possible to hear the opinions of the public and critics (rarely unanimous) and to satisfy a greater number of actors and producers
Black (2005) is the film that holds the record for the number of Filmfare Awards won with 11 awards including “Best Film” at the 53rd ceremony in 2006. It is followed by Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (1996) and Devdas (2002) with 10 awards.
Bimal Roy is currently the most rewarded director in the category «best director» with 7 trophies. It is followed by Yash Chopra and Raj Kapoor with 4 statuettes.
Dilip Kumar is the most rewarded actor in the category «best actor» with 8 awards. He is tied with Shahrukh Khan, who also receives 12 nominations. Amitabh Bachchan also won 8 Filmfare Awards but in two categories: «best actor» and «best actor in a second role». He also holds the record for nominations for an actor: 31.
With 6 awards and 5 nominations, Nutan and Jaya Bachchan are the most rewarded actresses in the categories «best actress» and «best actress in a second role», followed by Kajol, Nutan’s niece, Madhuri Dixit and Rani Mukherjee with 5 awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *