British Academy Film Award for Best British Film

British Academy Film Award for Best British Film

British Academy Film Award for Best British Film is a British film award awarded since 1948 by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) at the annual British Academy Film Awards.
She was named Alexander Korda Award from 1993 to 2009.

Evolution of the categories:
British Academy Film Award for Best Film (since 1948)
British Academy Film Award for Best British Film (1948 to 1968 and from 1993)
British Academy Film Award for Best Foreign Film (since 1983)
The BAFTA has changed the titles and the organization of categories for the best film since 1948.

Until 1968, two awards for best films were awarded each year: Best British film and Best film (all sources) (for non-British films). It was possible for British films to be nominated in both categories and, sometimes, to win both awards. From 1969 onwards, these awards were replaced by the only British Academy Film Award of the best film and British films were no longer distinguished from the others.


In 1985, BAFTA began to separate English-language films from other languages by creating the Best Foreign-Language Film Award. In 1988, his title was changed to Best film in a non-English language or more commonly Best foreign film. As before, it is possible for foreign language films to be nominated at the same time for Best Film, but to date, no film has won both categories.

In 1993, an award for the best British film was reinstated with the creation of the Alexander Korda Award for the best British film, named after the famous British director Alexander Korda.

Until 1981, the prize was awarded to the director. From 1981 to 1985, it was given only to producers, then in 1986 it was shared between the director and the producers. Since 1998, it has been handed over once again to producers only.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *